Hello world!

I’m more surprised than I can tell you that I’m starting this blog, but I just can’t seem to get away from the idea.  I think God is up to something new in me and this is my way of participating in the adventure of finding out more.  I’ve always loved words.  I write in my head as I drive and I write at my computer when I can’t sleep and I send cards and emails to sweet friends who are gracious enough to love me and give encouragement that sometimes my writing can make a difference in their day. 

As I’ve prayed about whether or not to do this, God has continued to surround me with Scripture verses, magazine articles, quotes, other bloggers who don’t know me, along with friends and family to say, “GO FOR IT!”   The quote that has most often showed up over the last month or so is that “you should never end a day without doing something a little bit scary.”  That’s not a direct quote, of course, and I’m not attributing it to one single person simply because it’s seemed to resonate from every direction I’ve turned lately.  I’m blessed with the ability to interact reasonably well with people.   At heart, however, I’m a bit of a hermit and it is more than a little bit scary to start one of these things when you don’t know a widget from a whatsit.  God won’t seem to let me alone about it, however, so here I am! 

In my Bible I have written “Life goals!” in red ink out beside 1 Thessalonians 4: 11-12, which says, “Make it your ambition to live a quiet life, to mind your own business and to work with your hands…so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody.” (NIV)  Now you know where I got the blog title.  I’ll talk more later about the other ways these verses speaks to me.

I can’t wait to see what God is going to do with this blog.  Quiet or not, I think this is going to be an adventure!

One thought on “Hello world!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

