Favorites…

My mother has always maintained that her children were all so different that she didn’t have a favorite—she loves us all equally.  Well, she’s right on some of that:  all three of us are very different and we’re all equally loved…but, really, my brother is her favorite.  You can ask my sister.  We can manage to live with that knowledge, however, because he isn’t around all that often.  When he is ‘back home’ for a visit, all meals and desserts will be planned around his favorite foods and it is a running joke with my father that if he wants a lemon icebox pie, then he needs to get my brother to plan a trip in this direction. 

Several years ago I spent a good bit of time in Florida with an aunt who was going through chemo treatments.  It never failed that, as we crossed the bridge on the way to her appointments, we would see the car with our favorite bumper sticker of all time.  It actually became our mission each day to find the car with the bumper that read:  “Jesus loves you…but I’m His favorite!”  It made us laugh every time we saw it…because we both knew that WE were His favorites.  Once I returned home, I would often get emails that said, “It was a tough day–you must have been the favorite today” or “I found a great parking space at work today…I was the favorite today!”

We can laugh about both of those situations because, in love, there really are no favorites.  It’s all about the amount of focused attention and how much of that attention we believe is focused on us at any given time.  How do I know that for sure?  Well, Psalm 18:30, says “As for God, His way is perfect…”  First John 4:8 tells us that “…God is love…” and verse 18 of the same chapter says, “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment….”  Finally, Galatians 2:6 says this:  “…God shows personal favoritism to no man…”  All together, that means that God who is perfect love doesn’t have favorites—we’re ALL His favorites!

The really good news for today is that you don’t have to question, be fearful or tormented that God doesn’t love you as much as He loves someone else!  He loves you in ways you can’t even know about yet and He wants to remind you of something today:

no matter who you are,

where you’ve been,

what you’ve done,

what you’re going through, or

what you think today…

God loves YOU!  Totally! Perfectly! Completely! Forever!  Now just think about that and focus your attention on Him for a second or two and see if you don’t feel like His favorite!  :~)

4 thoughts on “Favorites…

  1. Thanks for the fun and the promises!
    This reminds me of a family I know – again 2 sisters and 1 brother. At family gatherings, the sisters write “Joseph” on his disposable cup, even though his name is Curtis!

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement, Jody…you already know that you’re one of the encouragers who made me think, “I really do have to do this!” I am a most blessed person to have you as my friend!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

