Appointments

Yesterday was a day of appointments:  mundane, medical and divine.

 The mundane ones mean that my hair is now shorter and more manageable, there are up-to-date tags on our automobiles, paperwork is completed for some upcoming shows and there are several more red lines through items on my long-standing ‘to-do’ list.

 The medical and the divine were a bit more intertwined.  The first divine one was a ‘chance’ conversation as I stopped by a local business.  I really didn’t go to shop.   I went to check on a friend and his wife and just listen.  I do this periodically because I know first-hand how difficult it is to be the well spouse of someone fighting cancer.  Unless you’ve been there, it is difficult to know just how much stress (if ever there was a need for that word, this is it!) this situation can bring and how great is the need for a safe place to express it.  When you’ve been there, there are things you simply won’t need to express.  I am continually amazed at how God can use our difficult experiences to bless and help others if we choose to let Him do so.  Sometimes it simply helps to know that the person who is listening has been there before you and lived to tell the tale…

The medical appointment came later in the day and was divine in its own way.  We saw my husband’s oncologist.  Last month marked my husband’s 14th year of being cancer-free!  Yesterday, we saw the oncologist once again and were released for another two years.  It is exactly what we were expecting to happen…routine for us now, but never mundane…and still divine…all at the same time. 

Today, my prayers are those of a woman with a grateful heart and a God who can…

For those who long for the days of the mundane…

For those whose lives have been forever altered…

For those who have survived…

For those who are still battling…

For those who aren’t sure they can…

 

“I lift up my eyes to the hills—

where does my help come from?

My help comes from the Lord,

the Maker of heaven and earth.

Psalm 121: 1-2

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

