Where’s the fun?

We’ve been having discussions at our house about fun.  Actually, the conversations have centered about our lack of it.  Don’t get me wrong—we’re not depleted of all humor and we are aware that our days are not mind-numbing drudgery!  We’ve simply become aware that we’ve been so busy being productive and getting our chores done and working to accomplish the goals we’ve set for our business and making sure that we’ve added every single item we can to our “to-do” lists that we forgot to add “Have FUN!” as an intentionally separate line item!

Sounds like an oxymoron, doesn’t it?  I mean, really, who needs to be reminded to have fun.  Well, apparently, US!  I’m betting you may need the reminder, as well.

 This all started one night when I was running through all the things I’d accomplished that day and lamenting all the items still left on the list. (Keep in mind that I often have an exaggerated sense of what is reasonable for me to accomplish in any given 24-hour period and I have more than one or two OCD-like tendencies when I get started on the list.)  As I started my mini-rant over all I felt responsible for, I started to get a bit agitated and said, “I just have so much to do that I haven’t had—or made!—any time for ME in forever!  When do I get some “Becky time?!”

 My husband looked at me like I’d lost my mind and said, “What is that?!  I don’t remember the last time I had “ME time” and I’m not sure what I’d do if I had some now!”

 Well, naturally, being the organizing fixer that I am, I had a list ready and waiting for things he could do on his time!  And that’s when it hit me:  If he were following my list of fun things he should do, then it still wasn’t going to give him any time to decide what it was that he wanted!  I had to laugh at myself and I’ve been thinking about this subject ever since.  In fact, it’s one of the reasons I put aside my list and my regularly scheduled programming and went on the trip with my husband last week. 

 I’m not going to lie—making the choice to rest was not as easy as it sounds.  It felt more than a bit strange to not be “responsible” for things and to actually sit and think about what I wanted to do each day without the pressure of ‘the list’ of things that needed to be accomplished.  As the week progressed, however, I realized that it really did feel amazing to know that I didn’t have to follow my regular schedule every day and though there were things that didn’t get done, the world did not end. 

 Last week strengthened the budding desire to incorporate some regular ‘down time’ into my schedule and add some play to my day.  After all, God is still in charge and He doesn’t really need me to be so busy.  In fact, I think that ‘busy’ is one of the enemy’s favorite word, not God’s.  Our society seems to be so diametrically fractured between the camps of do-nothing and do-everything, that we’ve lost our sense of balance.  We need to be responsible and contribute to society and our communities and be a great witness to the world and … see, it already feels heavy, doesn’t it?  Part of how we can do all those things is to deliberately set aside some time for fun.

 So!  What about you?  What do you do just for you?  How often do you add your idea of fun into your schedule?  Seriously, please share with me—who knows, I might just want to join you!  No matter what your choice of fun entails, choose to take some time for you this week.  Let’s start adding some balance back to our lives and take some time to play.  Who knows what a refreshed YOU could accomplish?!

5 thoughts on “Where’s the fun?

  1. My fun thing for today was to get Subway sandwiches and meet my husband in a local park during his lunch hour. We enjoyed each other’s company and the wonderful September breeze while we were under the shade of a huge old oak tree. It was a fabulous way to spend an hour!

    • My fun thing for today was giggling with my girls until we were all crying. I can’t even tell you what we were laughing at! My husband was in the other room and came in to check on us to make sure we were all okay. While it was fun, I agree with Becky. Really need to schedule more fun time into our days.

  2. Sometimes I need to remind myself that some of the things on my list are fun . . . if I allow myself to enjoy them . . . their presence on the list somehow takes some of the fun out, at least in my mind.
    One thing I do is get up early enough to sit with my cat for a little while before I go to work. Tigger is always a huge pleasure!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

