Keeping it real

Back when I was still thinking about starting this blog, I talked with several friends to get their advice.  One of the first things I was told was to “keep it real because the people I identify with the most aren’t the perfect ones.  I need to hear from people who talk about the times they didn’t get it right as well as the ones they did.”  It’s pretty good advice.  (Thanks, Betty.)

As I look back over some of the things that I’ve written in the last couple of months–some of which I published here, but not all–I have to wonder if some of the writings aren’t a little too real.  I’ve made no secret that this sharing of myself is often difficult for me.  So when I look back and see some of the things that have escaped onto my computer screen…well, let’s just say I’m a bit surprised.  I’m used to thinking these things and writing some of these things, but much less accustomed to letting others know about them.  This is definitely been a “growth opportunity”–and sometimes I’ve been reminded that with those kinds of opportunities come some personal discomfort.

You already know by now that I collect quotes.  This  post and my thought process for it reminds me of a favorite passage from Margery Williams, in The Velveteen Rabbit or How Toys Become Real:

“What is REAL?” asked the Velveteen Rabbit one day… “Does it mean having things that buzz inside you and a stick-out handle?”

“Real isn’t how you are made,” said the Skin Horse. “It’s a thing that happens to you. When [someone] loves you for a long, long time, not just to play with, but REALLY loves you, then you become Real.”

“Does it hurt?” asked the Rabbit.

“Sometimes,” said the Skin Horse, for he was always truthful. “When you are Real you don’t mind being hurt.”

“Does it happen all at once, like being wound up,” he asked, “or bit by bit?”

“It doesn’t happen all at once,” said the Skin Horse. “You become. It takes a long time. That’s why it doesn’t often happen to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept.

“Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand… once you are Real you can’t become unreal again. It lasts for always.”

Maybe that’s part of the reason for this blog…it’s an opportunity to be real in a broader arena…even if it sounds and feels a little too real to me sometimes.  Thanks for all the love and understanding–not to mention the kind comments.  Here’s to always being Real.

8 thoughts on “Keeping it real

  1. My favorite one to this point, Becky!! I see the one that REALLY loves us in this quote from the story being our Heavenly Daddy in our own lives. For me, He has tossed me in the air and imagined all kinds of adventures to take me on (many of them scary and painful) and He has carried me around and stroked my hair and hugged and kissed on my heart until I am soft and worn and well, REAL! He has shown me that real truly is not ugly but a chance to redeem my story, to share it with others, and watch them begin to enjoy the immense freedom in being real. Thank you for sharing these thoughts!

  2. I don’t even know how I stopped up here, however I assumed this submit used to be great. I do not realize who you are however certainly you are going to a well-known blogger should you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  3. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  4. Wow! Thank you! I continually needed to write on my website something like that. Can I take a part of your post to my blog?

    • Thanks for stopping by! I generally publish under Creative Commons licensing, so you are welcome to repost a portion of this particular blog post to your blog as long as you give proper credit for where you found it and who wrote it. Please send me a link to your blog–I’d love to check out your work, as well! Have a great day!

  5. Hi there! Your post struck right home… I’m very new at this blogging thing, and already I’ve noticed how I’ve unconciously been quite conscious (hahaha! does that make any sense at all?) of the image that my blog sends out to people. I’m thinking we all want to look our best and so writing about the not so good stuff can be challenging. In any case, if our writing tends to almost always lean on the positive side, we have Philippians 4:8 to back us up:

    “Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.”

    There’s already too much written about the bad stuff out there. Maybe we can do better by keeping it real on the good side.

    Be blessed!

    Ally

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

