Has anybody seen the peace?!

Has anybody seen the peace?!  I’m in a hurry and I really need some right now! (It’s a bit like asking for patience, isn’t it?  If you’re asking for it, it generally means there’s a shortage somewhere!)

This is one of those weeks when there’s so much going on in my life and in my mind that my brain probably looks like a giant electrical storm.  There are so many details that need to be kept straight, appointments to be kept, travel plans to be made and executed, packing for changeable weather, schedules to be coordinated, people to see, words to be written, grass to mow, special orders to be completed, and …and somewhere in here, I need to just chill so I don’t come completely apart in the process.

If it were just my own schedule, I’d be just fine, but for some reason I have to consider other people, too!  Can you imagine?!  That never happens to you, right?  LOL

As I’ve been checking off lists (yes, I have multiple lists for this week!) and getting things done, I really should have a much bigger sense of accomplishment…and yet, at the moment, I find myself frustrated and edgy instead of accomplished.  It seems like the lists are growing on their own now.  I know it’s me—I keep adding things to them, so it’s my own fault, but these things really do need to be done and there’s a limit to both my time and my ability to multi-task!  (Surely this sounds familiar to someone besides me?)

SO.  What to do?  Personally, I have been remembering some scripture verses while I’ve been dashing madly around and I’ve found they have a theme:  peace.  I love it!  God’s own message seeps through all the personally created chaos and urges me to slow my heart rate and my speed and spend some time with Him.  Just in case any of this sounds the least bit familiar to you, I’m going to share a few verses that have been running through my head along with all of the other details of life this morning…hmmm…just like there was a purpose or something.  (smile.)

  • “You will keep him (or her!) in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he (or she!) trusts in You.”  Isaiah 26:3
  • “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.”  Matthew 11: 28
  • “The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.”  Philippians 4:9
  • And finally, “I will hear what God the Lord will speak, for He will speak peace to His people …”  Psalm 86:8a

That always blows my mind—that the God of the universe would take time out to calm my frazzled self with promises, instructions and protections that specifically feed the need of the moment!  He’s done it time and again, but it is still amazing to me that He is such a personal God.

It is my prayer that you’ll find some time to hear from Him today, too.  Make the time—regardless of your schedule.  The busy days make it even more critical…and now, I really have to go…I’m on a schedule!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

