Wondering what to do next? Dream!

Anyone else out there having questions about what you’re supposed to do next, please raise your hand.  Good.  I feel better knowing that.  I’m not alone.

It doesn’t matter who you are or what your line of work is, there will be times of questioning.  Days when you’re just ready to give up and go home…and you may wonder why you started down this particular road in the first place.  The truth is, there was a plan.  You may not remember it very well, but there was a plan.

When I find myself in the middle of one of those days, I try to take some time out to dream.  Yes, I know.  It doesn’t sound very practical…at first.  You should try it anyway.  If this is one of those days…and Mondays are notorious for being “one of those days” for a lot of us…then take a 5-15 minute dream break and ask yourself the following questions:

  • Why did I start this in the first place?  Sounds like a whopper of a question, doesn’t it?  The answers may actually help you, though, so go ahead and remember.  Put it down on paper if you need to–I find that writing it down helps me process and this step makes it easier to remember the next time.  Try to remember how you felt at the beginning:  when you first found out that you got the job, the idea, the ok to proceed–write those down, too.
  • What are my goals for my life today?  Another biggie.  Provide for myself/family, sharing of knowledge, contributing to the cause–whatever is important to you right now.  Write it down.
  • What are my goals for the future?  (aka:  What do I want to be when I grow up?)  Massive question for me, personally.  Write it down.  Don’t just focus on the financial aspects.  What kind of person do you want to be?  What areas of passion do you have?
  • Now, look back at the answers you have written down.  Do you see any threads of continuity?  Any areas of discord?  Knowing that some of your goals from the very beginning are still valid works in process–stuff you still want to have happen–can give you the momentum you need to get up and get going again with renewed vigor.  Finding out that those goals no longer reflect where you want to be, is just as big.  Maybe this is the time for a new direction in life.

I love this exercise because while sometimes we just need a little break in the middle of the task we’re trying to complete, there are other times when we need a little break in the middle of our life!  While you’re thinking about the answers to these questions–and any others that might pop up in the process!–spend a moment or two thinking about what God has to say about making plans, as well.  Here are just a few things you might want to remember:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Jeremiah 29:11

“But the plans of the LORD stand firm forever, the purposes of his heart through all generations.”  Psalm 33:11

“Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.”  Psalm 16:3

“In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps.”  Proverbs 16:9

“Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.”  Proverbs 19:21

“When I planned this, did I do it lightly? Or do I make my plans in a worldly manner so that in the same breath I say, “Yes, yes” and “No, no”?”  2 Corinthians 1:17

The verses above were given to God’s people at various times throughout Scripture.  He loves you no less than He did them and takes the same care in creating plans for your future that He did for them.  Taking the time out to dream and pray and ask what God wants for you in your situation can be the difference in accomplishing goals that contribute to the fullness of your life…and in determining if you’re fulfilling someone else’s ideas of what is best for you.  Whatever the answer, there’s still time.  Time to rachet up those dreams of yours and make a difference in the world around you.

(And if you know why God had me write this today instead of what I thought I was going to publish…feel free to share!  LOL)

2 thoughts on “Wondering what to do next? Dream!

    • Thank you! You are right–His ways are always better! This was one of those funny ones that had me waiting to see what I was going to write even as I was typing because it was so very different from what I had planned. :~) I figured He must have someone specific in mind who needed to read this one…maybe it was me! LOL

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

