The Collector

“It suddenly struck me that that tiny pea, pretty and blue, was the Earth. I put up my thumb and shut one eye, and my thumb blotted out the planet Earth. I didn’t feel like a giant. I felt very, very small.”   — Neil Armstrong

It’s a bit hard for me to imagine Neil Armstrong feeling small.  I totally get what he was saying in his quote, but seriously…he was Neil Armstrong…American hero…trained astronaut…in a space shuttle…in orbit…and, in our culture, how much bigger could you get?

Personally, but I’ve had some times that made me feel beyond small.  Days when I wasn’t sure why God bothered to create me in the first place.  There have also been days when my mom used to say, “You’re getting too big for your britches!”  Isn’t that just like us–living somewhere between two extremes?

Either way, there’s no getting around it:  in the grand scheme of things…we’re all small.  Don’t get upset by that.  Embrace it.  Revel in it.  And remember that when you belong to Him, God has some pretty amazing things to say about you:  You’re so important that He pays strict attention to you and your life.  He’s actually such a fan of yours that He’s begun collecting mementos from your life.  Don’t believe me?  Check this out.

Scripture says that when we belong to Him, God keeps OUR

  • tears in a bottle (Psalm 56:8)
  • prayers in a bowl (Revelation 5:8)
  • days in a book (Psalm 139:16)
  • and our name engraved on the palm of His hand (Isaiah 49:16)

If that doesn’t make you feel important, then I’m not sure what will.

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

