Passages…

This has been a difficult week for a lot of people.  A week of loss and mourning.  Lives have been lost.  Because of that, some of our friends’ lives have been changed forever.  Our hearts hurt for them and our prayers are with them.

For my part, Monday was the third anniversary of the death of my Aunt Beverly.  We were more than family.  We were friends.  Three years ago I sat in a hospice facility for 3 days and held her hand, sang songs and prayed as she slowly left this life.  They were hard days following over 10 years of hard battling against the enemy of cancer.   I’m told that the sense of hearing is the last to leave us and I wanted her to go hearing the same things we’d spoken and sung between us for years.   I had promised to be there if at all possible and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

Waiting for death to come is a hard thing.  When you’re not ready for it, it comes so swiftly and when you’re counting on it…it seems to trudge and take its own sweet time.  God’s word says that all of our days were written in His book even before we experienced a single one of them (Psalm 139:16).  Surely that includes our last ones.

By extension, it also includes our future ones.  For the immediate future, they may include some sadness, but I’m grateful that my faith gives me hope that I can share with others who have lost more recently.  I can share the hope of better, happier times and encourage them to share their memories and look for days when laughter, not tears, is the predominant event.  I look forward to days when joy runs rampant throughout the hours for my friends and they see, once again, that God shows up in even the smallest details.

I share the following verses knowing that they, like all the others included in Scripture, are true.  They’ve been there to encourage and sustain me through all kinds of days.

For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime! Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes with the morning.”  Psalm 30:5 (ESV)

“I am the Lord, and I do not change…”  Malachi 3:6a (NLT)

And finally…

“Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you, yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”  Isaiah 41:10

Praying strength and comfort for those who have lost…and joy for all of us.

Grace & Peace!

2 thoughts on “Passages…

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

