Epic fail?

It had all started 24 hours earlier.  Once again–despite my best intentions!–my schedule overwhelmed the bounds of time and reason.

It’s amazing, really, that this continues to happen.  I mean, I wrote a whole week’s worth of blog posts about culling the schedule, careful planning and choosing to enjoy the holiday in a more reasonable way.

It was not to be.

My calendar said, “Bake a sweet potato pie today!”

My schedule said, “Nope!”

My pantry said, “Nope!

My heart said, “YES!” but somewhere in the pre-planning phase I forgot that I had been out-of-pocket for 3 days of show time last weekend and that I only had 2 days after that to get a week’s worth of choring done.  You know…those pesky little details like clean laundry and getting product posted on Etsy in time for the (hopefully) great after-Thanksgiving shopping frenzy.

By the end of Thanksgiving Eve, all I had to show for it were 2 big batches of cookies–oatmeal raisin and chocolate chip.  Yes, I know.  Technically, I could have made the pie.  My husband had pointed that out to me already.  The point, however, was for me to RELAX while making the pie…and that just wasn’t going to happen.  We ended up going to bed late and a little grumpy.  Not a good beginning to my holiday.

Thanksgiving Day dawned bright and early.  We got up and headed to the kitchen to try and add one more offering for the family dinner.

After much discussion and the fact that we apparently couldn’t even boil eggs correctly that day, we decided that the cookies would just have to be enough.

There were computer problems:  it took me a whole hour to post my simple Thanksgiving greeting!

I missed the trashcan with a load of trash even though I was standing directly over it.

I got cold water in the shower.  It wasn’t even 8 o’clock in the morning, people!

After a bit, you just have to laugh.  I mean, REALLY laugh!  You just have to choose to let it go and have a good time, anyway!

I’ve taught that for years–it was time to put it into practice.

Honestly, once I made the decision to just have fun no matter what else happened, it turned into a pretty awesome day.

It is now 4:15 PM on the Monday after Thanksgiving.  I still haven’t made the pie and in about 2 hours, my family will arrive here for supper–one last meal before my brother heads back home.  We will laugh and we will catch up on the “just us” kinds of things.  We will eat great food and we will relax and we will know that this family is far more important than any schedule.

Epic fail?  I think not.  The pie can wait…and so can I.

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

