What’s that fragrance you’re wearing?

Toward the end of the year, one of my sister’s favorite things is to pot narcissus bulbs so they’ll be in bloom for the holidays.  It’s a simple, elegant little flower with a powerful perfume.  It can take over a room with just a few blooms.  Some people really like that and others find it a bit overt for their taste and maybe, even a little bit offensive.

Personally, I love the way they smell, but I’m always a bit discouraged that such beauty is so transient.  I like things that stick around longer.  Although I prefer the blooms of roses and gardenias, I like to have the narcissus around through the holidays, too…mainly because they remind me of my sister.  I ran out of time this year and didn’t get bulbs planted, so I picked up a couple of pots at the local grocery store.  Amazingly, they smelled just as sweet as the ones I’ve planted for myself in the past–(grin)–and they still reminded me of my sister just the same.

As I put my pots with their spent blossoms out on the back porch to catch some of the rain today, I was reminded of the following verses from Scripture:

“But thanks be to God, who always puts us on display in Christ, and spreads through us in every place the scent of knowing Him.  For to God we are the fragrance of Christ among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing.  To some we are a scent of death leading to death, but to others, a scent of life leading to life. And who is competent for this?”           2 Corinthians 2:14-16 (HCSB)

I like those verses because they make a powerful point:  deciding to follow Christ and allowing Him to put your life on display to the world will definitely make a difference in how you are perceived.  Some people aren’t going to like it…even a little bit.  Others are going to be drawn to you, or rather, the Christ in you and they’re going to want to know more.  They’re going to want what you have…and they’re going to need to know that the things they’re drawn to are permanent, not something that is just you ‘being nice’ when they’re around.

Sharing Jesus with the world means you better get ready for reactions of all kinds, but the rewards of doing so can make the only difference that matters in someone’s life today.

Are you ready to tell them what fragrance you’re wearing?

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

