While you’re waiting…

“The trouble is that I’m in a hurry, but God isn’t.” ~ Phillips Brooks

 If ever there was a truth written down, this is it!  I’m not the only one, either.  It happens in your house, too, and at your work…and at your church, as well.

 There are some things that we’re content to wait for, to work toward or live in expectation of fulfillment.  I think that list is a lot shorter than the one containing the things about which we are impatient.  I’ve noticed, however, that my impatience doesn’t seem to hurry God along at all.

 For example, I’m really tired of being ill.  I realize that this illness won’t require hospitalization.  It isn’t a monumental catastrophe and it isn’t fatal.  I’m just tired of it.  I further realize that there are lots of people out there who are facing illnesses that are all those things and more.  I’ll bet they’re tired of them, too.

 We’ve been there, actually, and I found out something really interesting.  The seriously ill people don’t complain.  They’re grateful for any assistance they receive.  They’re patient in waiting rooms because they know their turn is coming and they may need some extra time in there, too.  They make the most of the time they have and, although they may be grumpy from pain, it is really rare for them to just be in a foul mood about their illness.  I think it’s because they realize that there’s really no point to wasting what time is available to them.

It’s a lesson we could all use.  It’s one I’ve reminded my husband of many times in waiting rooms over the past 15 years as he fumed about missing work and having to sit and wait.  I’ve generally just laughed and told him that this was further proof that he was really well—he had the energy to complain.  He hasn’t always been appreciative of my humor in those situations even though I know he has recognized the truth of them.

 I guess it’s a lesson I’ve needed for myself this week.  I’ve been trying to hurry my recovery along using everything I can.  I’m taking it slow and eating well, doing what I can and then resting.  My part’s done.  I’ve done everything I can.  I’m waiting on God now.  Whether He chooses to hurry this along or not, I’ve begun to ask Him what He’s trying to teach me in this time of waiting.  I also realize that I am still the most blessed person I know. 

I guess it’s time I started reminding myself of that more often, make the most of the day I have and tell God “THANK YOU!” for all the grace He’s sent in my direction. 

No matter what it is that you’re waiting on, ask yourself the following questions:

  • Are you sure that your plan is also God’s plan?
  • Have you prayed about it? (and listened, not just told God what you wanted?)
  • Have you done all YOU can do to make it happen?
  • Have you looked for additional lessons God may be trying to teach you in the wait?
  • Is there something you need to thank God for while you wait, as well?
4 thoughts on “While you’re waiting…

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

