I’d really like my answer right now, God.

“Hear my prayer, O Lord, and let my cry come to You. Do not hide Your face from me in the day of my trouble; Incline Your ear to me; in the day that I call, answer me speedily.” Psalm 102: 1-2

David was having a tough day. He wasn’t the least bit shy about telling God all about it: When I pray, I want God to listen to me and send my answer right now, please! That’s basically what David is saying here. I’ve said the same thing and I’ll bet that’s what you’ve said, as well. Even when we don’t say it out loud, we still think it, don’t we?

I had a prayer answered yesterday…after months of waiting for it to happen. It came right out of the blue and when it arrived, you could have knocked me over with a feather. Oh, I had definitely prayed about the situation—more than once. I had begged God for answers and wondered what He was waiting on—there wasn’t a single reason I could see that made sense to me about why we had to wait. I could see that this particular situation was painful for people I love dearly. Although it did affect me to some extent, seeing my loved ones in pain was considerably more difficult for me.

I wasn’t surprised that God had actually answered my prayer so much as I had grown accustomed to the waiting…maybe I’d even gotten to the point that I’d assumed He’d be taking even more time to answer this one, so I’d lost a bit of my urgency when I prayed about it. It didn’t make my list every day any more. I had plenty of faith; I had just moved some other requests to the forefront of my prayer list.

Don’t you just love it when we prioritize God’s requests for Him? I wonder what He thinks of that…

Timing is everything. The problem with that statement is that we’re not in charge of the timing. What we are in charge of is the praying and the attitude we keep while we’re waiting on the answers. The last portion of Psalm 5:3 says, “…I wait expectantly.” (TNIV) That’s what I was missing on this one. I’d lost my sense of expectation. That’s why I was so surprised when I got the phone call.

My joy was no less real, but perhaps some of my wait time had made me a bit more cynical. That’s my own fault, not His. Though I am grateful for the call, I’m aware that there are still details to be revealed in this situation. It is not completely over, but for now, I am going to give God praise for answering in the affirmative. I’m going to choose to be grateful and know that God still has a plan that’s good for all of us. I’m going to choose to wait…expectantly. I’m going to believe that what God has begun, He will finish and that when He is finished, it will result in a situation that is a blessing for my family.

I’m also choosing to share this with you so that you’ll be reminded that whether it takes a few minutes or a few years, whether it is the answer you want or the answer you get…
• He’s still listening.
• He hasn’t forgotten.
• He’s still involved.
• He’s still got a plan for your good.
• He’s in the process of working it out for you.
• He’s still God.
He still loves you. That will never change.

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

