What’s your style?

What’s your style?  The next time you get a few minutes, take a look around your house.  What do you see?

  • Is everything in place?  Are there piles of things strategically placed on the flat surfaces?
  • Do you have lots of color on your walls or are they more neutral?
  • Is your furniture more casual or formal?
  • Are there lots of collectibles or family photos or just a few select pieces of art?
  • Would you say that your décor is modern, traditional or eclectic?
  • Were you the one in charge of making look like it does today? (minus all the items that other people left out, of course! lol)
  • What do people say when they see your house?
  • Do you like what you see?

The reason I’m asking is because I’ve been thinking about redoing parts of my house.  I’ve looked at all kinds of magazines, photos, online options, paint chips, etc.  After reviewing all these choices, I can see at LEAST 4 different options for how I could make over the spaces I have in mind.  I’m taking my time on these decisions because I’m going to have to live with them for awhile after I’m done and the results I end up with are going to say something about the one that created them.  In other words, the people who see the results are going to make some judgments and assumptions about me and I’d really like those impressions to be favorable.

As I’ve thought about it, however, I’ve been increasingly aware of how blessed I am NOT to have to start from scratch.  I don’t have to put up my own walls, make my own furniture, create my own colors and paints or learn how to make all the different appliances I need in the rooms I’m interested in redoing.  Someone else…actually, SEVERAL “someone elses” have already done those things for me.

MY job is to simply see what options are out there that I like, assemble them, pick the paint colors/finishes and get busy.  That still seems like an awful lot of work doesn’t it?  At least it does until you consider the following:

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.  The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.   Then God said…”  Genesis 1:1-3a (NKJV)

Think about that for a minute.  Out of nothing, God created everything…from scratch…and He ended up with what we live in every single day.  Wow.  Isn’t that amazing?  Go ahead and read the whole first chapter of Genesis and then look out a window and think about that for a second.

Again, I realize there are people who think this is the fairy tale for the feeble-minded, but my brain and my faith BOTH tell me otherwise.  And really?  Doesn’t it make more sense to believe in a Divine Creator than to think that it all just suddenly happened?  I mean, seriously, when was the last time the chaos in your home suddenly resolved itself all by itself?

My point is this:  when I look at all the details of the natural world that I live in I learn something about the One who created it:  I learn that He’s creative and lively with a sense of humor and a great love for color and detail.  He’s bold and He’s quiet and He’s in love with the people He made…so much so that He created this beautiful place for them to live.  And, really, who wouldn’t want to have Someone in their lives who loved them that much?

Now, go look in the mirror.  You’re just His style!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

