Control Issues

I woke up feeling just fine this morning.  I went about my daily chores and started filling out some paperwork for an upcoming show.  The people who are putting on the show had prepared an application that didn’t really allow for me to put in all I wanted them to know.  It wasn’t too long before I was in a bit of a mood.  They’ve been doing this show for several years now and you’d think that they would have it figured out by now, wouldn’t you?!  I mean, just because they made space for all that THEY wanted to know didn’t mean that was all I wanted them to know!  (Notice the sarcasm in that last part, please.)

I called my husband to get his assistance in clarifying some of the details and before I hung up, I asked him to pray for me.

“Why?  What’s wrong?  Are you hurting?”

“No, I just hate doing this kind of thing!”

“What kind of ‘thing’ are you talking about?  Filling out applications?”

“Yes!   I don’t like the way they did it and I’m just frustrated and in a bad mood because of the way this paperwork is laid out and there’s no place to tell them what they need to know on here!”

“Oh!  You mean you’re frustrated because you’re not in control?!”  Then he chuckled.

(YES, I’m serious!  HE SAID THAT and THEN HE CHUCKLED!  ARRRRGGGHHHHH!)  It didn’t help that he was right.  It didn’t help that I had to agree with him, either!  It did make me laugh, though.  When my husband is right, he is RIGHT!

Life is like that sometimes.  We get all bent out of shape because we’re not in control of things.  When that happens, it’s a good thing to have someone nearby who will just call it like it is.  Every person on the planet needs a truth-teller to remind us of what the central issue is and to also remind us that it’s normal.  It’s even better when they will help you see the situation in a way that makes you laugh at yourself.  Knowing that they will pray for you anyway and that they will keep on loving you in spite of your “control issues” is priceless.

Do you have someone like that in your life?  Can you be counted on to BE someone like that in the life of others around you?  I pray the answer to both of those questions is a resounding “YES!”  I pray that is the case because the world could use more people like that and because I may need you to do that kind of thing for me the next time I have control issues!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

