When it’s hard to breathe…

I was reading in the book of Job this morning.  I think that God took me there because it is the story of a good man—a righteous man—who has been just overwhelmed with difficulties and grief and underwhelmed with the “comfort” of his friends.  That happens sometimes.

I think we can all relate to being the one who is overwhelmed with the difficulties of life.  Perhaps our trials will not compare to the extent of Job’s difficulties, but really, when you’re in the midst of a trying time, you’re usually not taking time out to make sure your grief is larger or smaller than what someone else is dealing with at the time.  At those times, we tend to focus on our own issues because sometimes, it’s just hard enough to breathe.

Hopefully, we’ll have friends who will come alongside us in times like that.  Hopefully, we’ll have friends who will be better comforters than Job had!  Whether or not that is the case, Hebrews 13:5 tell us that we can have a Friend who will never leave us.  His name is Jesus and He will always be “enough”–no matter what you’re facing.

If you’re one of the ones having trouble just “breathing” today, let me remind you of the following:

“The Spirit of God has made me, and the breath of the Almighty gives me life.”  Job 33:4

God made you on purpose.  He made you deliberately and with intent.  He has chosen to give you life.  It is His breath that you breathe.  Breathe.  You don’t have to come up with all the answers on your own today.  He is in control…even when things feel out of control…even when it’s hard to breathe…especially when it’s hard to breathe.

Breath of Heaven  (Songwriters: CHRIS EATON, AMY GRANT)

Chorus:  “Breath of heaven, Hold me together, Be forever near me, Breath of heaven. Breath of heaven, Lighten my darkness, Pour over me your holiness, For you are holy. Breath of heaven. Breath of heaven. Breath of heaven.”

2 thoughts on “When it’s hard to breathe…

  1. Thanks Beck…I have been having a lot of problems “breathing” recently. You’ve always been a beacon of light to me and out of the blue you chose to write about the exact thing I needed to hear. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt God was guiding your hand because he knew that I really needed a sign that things are going to get better. Thank you for helping me “breathe” a little easier. I love you and miss you.

    • Oh, Michelle! I’m always amazed when God sends me things for me and they also help other people that I love! I guess that connection is part of what makes us human. I’m absolutely certain that this “out of the blue” word was planned way before today–I’ve already seen the evidence…even before I could get it posted I was able to share with a man this morning who was in need of the same word! God is for you, Michelle. Praying that your “breathing” gets easier ASAP! I love you and miss you, too!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

