Filled with laughter and songs of joy…

“Our mouths were filled with laughter, our tongues with songs of joy. Then it was said among the nations, “The Lord has done great things for them.” Psalm 126:2SONY DSC

I’ve always enjoyed sending notes of encouragement and reaching out through the mail to the people I love. In particular, I’m a fan of those that are blank on the inside so I can write to my heart’s content about any subject that comes to mind. March is one of the busiest months for birthdays in our circle of friends and family–I believe I counted 12 on our personal calendar this month! While some of those days have been acknowledged by phone calls and messages through Facebook or texts, some people are, quite honestly, expecting a card…and perhaps just a bit more!

Birthdays are special occasions and that means that a generic or formerly blank card will never do. That means a trip to the card section of the store. Although I’m not a fan of standing there with everyone buzzing back and forth while I look for “just the right one”–you know, the one that matches that person just perfectly and makes you seem even more clever than you really are–it really can be a lot of fun when I find that elusive missive that fits each person just perfectly.

Yesterday was such a card-gathering day. Actually, while I was looking for some appropriate birthday greetings, I found several other cards that absolutely made me laugh out loud because I could just see the look of the faces and hear the laughter of those who will receive them later. These were cards that couldn’t be sent to just anyone…they were only going to be appropriate for specific individuals. I was delighted to find them and wondered who had created such combinations of wit and situation to so closely match some of my friends. (I’ve decided their friends must be almost as insanely fabulous as mine…and if not, then perhaps someone has been stalking us for years!)

This morning I turned on some great music and sat down to get some of my entertainment into the mail. Once again, I found myself smiling at the future reactions for a few of those cards and actually anticipating the phone calls/emails that I’m certain they will solicit in return. As I closed the cards and sealed them, I began to search for Scripture verses to adorn the back side of the envelopes. These, too, were chosen to fit each individual personally and, once again, I thanked God for His wildly wonderful Word and how it holds verses that are appropriate no matter what you’re facing or seeking to find.

As I looked for a verse to go on the back of one of my funny cards, I found Psalm 126:2. It fits more than just the back of that turquoise envelope to my friend. It fits my day. It fits my life. Here I sit–surrounded by blessings and friendship, fabulous music filling the house, sunshine coming in the windows and the sounds of multiple cats purring nearby, typing words as a way to share my God with the world and I’m in absolute awe at how much my God loves me. Yes, we’re still facing difficulties. We probably always will. That’s not the point. Once again, God is here with me, Scripture is true and I can’t help rejoicing:

“Our mouths were filled with laughter, our tongues with songs of joy. Then it was said among the nations, “The Lord has done great things for them.” Psalm 126:2

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

