Who God looks like today…

In some families–especially in mine–there are often traits of similarity so strong that people who haven’t met you before can tell who you’re related to when they see you.  There are physical characteristics and even similar tastes that transcend the miles between family members.  Several years ago, for example, my mother’s oldest sister (a former teacher from West Virginia) arrived in our home town and stopped by a local store.  She was extremely surprised to be called by my mother’s name…by a former student of my mother’s here in Mississippi.  The lady quickly realized it wasn’t my mother before her and corrected herself, but assured my aunt that she knew who she was related to just the same.  Though they hadn’t discussed it–or even been aware of it until that visit!–both sisters had chosen the exact same hairstyle and the same frames for their glasses…not to mention their height and facial similarities.  They lived over 800 miles apart and my aunt had never entered that store before, yet they were immediately identified as family.  Blood doesn’t lie.

Neither does Scripture.  John 1:12 tells us, “But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God” (ESV)  That means that when we choose to believe that Jesus is the Son of God who died to pay the price for our sins so that we can spend eternity with God, we become family.  We may live a world apart and not even speak the same languages or know any of the same people, but we’re still family according to God.  We’re His children.  As we grow up in Christ, we begin to look more and more like Him…in our thoughts, our actions and our attitudes.  Those things transcend our locations and our native languages–even the physical families to which we belong.

Even though we have Biblical accounts of those who have talked with Him, wrestled with Him and walked with Him, Scripture tells us that no one has ever seen God in all of His glory.  I’m good with that.  I’m good with that because I’m amazed at just the parts of Him that I have seen and I’m pretty certain I couldn’t handle seeing Him in all of His glory right now.  Take today for example.  Here’s what God has looked like to me today:

  • He looked like my husband when he told me that I was loved this morning.
  • He sounded like my mother as she called to get the address of a relative so she could bless them–despite their choice not to spend time with our family in recent months.
  • He looked like the friends who have left silly and encouraging messages on my phone and Facebook page today.
  • He sounded like my precious little 92-year-old friend who called to tell me she was thinking about me today and ask if we could pray for our two husbands as they’re facing recent health issues. (Mine is 47–hers is 95!)
  • He looked like my favorite AC repairman who came as soon as I called about the water leaking through my ceiling and soaking my chair.
  • He sounded like my prayer partner as she requested prayer for the health of someone who has tried to cause her family injury.

I’ve been overwhelmed by the ways God has shown up here today…and I hope you’ve been able to see the Family resemblance in the people around you, as well.  Who does God look like where you live?

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

