Counting miracles

I’ve got to admit that my schedule is quite hurried this week.  We’re coming off a big show from this past weekend and getting ready for a two-day show this coming weekend.  It’s a new show for us and we’re so honored to have been accepted to show our jewelry creations alongside other incredibly talented artists from all over the southern United States.  It’s an honor, but it also means longer hours in the shop and a few added pressures that don’t really lend themselves to the relaxed creative atmosphere that we’re more accustomed to around here.
I’ll bet you’ve had quite the week, as well.  It seems that busyness and tight schedules are more the norm than the exception for most folks, doesn’t it?  When that happens, we can get all caught up in the press and pressure and lose sight of all the grace that surrounds us everywhere.  I know it sounds counter-intuitive to do so right in the middle of all the chaos, but I really belive that’s the time we need to slow down and take note of the miracles that surround us: those graces–both large and small–that fuel our souls and allow us to jump back in the fray renewed and refreshed.

mir·a·cle

noun \ˈmir-i-kəl\
 
Definition of MIRACLE
1: an extraordinary event manifesting divine intervention in human affairs
2: an extremely outstanding or unusual event, thing, or accomplishment
3: Christian Science: a divinely natural phenomenon experienced humanly as the fulfillment of spiritual law
The definition above is courtesy of m-w.com, the Merriam-Webster online dictionary.  I looked up the official definition because I’ve been seeing that word pop up around me quite a bit lately…and if you’re going to be counting miracles, then you need to make sure you know what to look for, right?  (grin)
“To me, every hour of the day and night is an unspeakably perfect miracle.” ~Walt Whitman
Perhaps, as Whitman has concluded, it is as simple as acknowledging the very hours that we live and recognizing them for the gift from God that they are.  Perhaps you need to notice things that are a little more tangible, a little more touchable.  If that’s the case, then maybe you’ll like this quote even better:

“If you don’t believe in miracles, perhaps you’ve forgotten that you are one.”  ~unknown

I do.  I like that quote even better than the first one.  Certainly, do count the hours–they are life-giving!–but don’t forget to include yourself in the list of miracles you see today.  Don’t forget that you are created on purpose for a purpose!   Don’t forget that YOU are a miracle!
“For You formed my inward parts;
You covered me in my mother’s womb.
 I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Marvelous are Your works,
And that my soul knows very well.”  Psalm 139:13-14
Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

