Sneaky

“Be still, and in the quiet moment, listen to the voice of your heavenly Father.  His words can renew your spirit.  No one knows you and your needs like He does.”  ~Janet L. Weaver

I had planned to write a weekend challenge on Friday, but…the power went out for the entire window of time I had set aside for writing, so I started in on an even larger challenge…rearranging the furniture downstairs.  Yes, I said “downstairs.”  No, that wasn’t a typo.  I tackled the living room/dining rooms, the area at the end of the kitchen and the computer/workout room…all at the same time.

Talk about a challenge.  I moved furniture.  I rolled up rugs and moved them to storage or other locations.  I deleted some accessories and added others.  I moved the treadmill to a better location in the room.  I cleared the surfaces in some places and filled the surfaces in others.  I found long-lost items and even long-lost furniture that I’ve apparently been walking past on a daily basis!  Truly!  I found all kinds of items that need to go to other homes and I found some things that needed to be grouped together and others, still, that  should never have been purchased in the first place.  I moved artwork and I added to the growing pile for donation.

At some point in the process, the electricity came back on and as I vacuumed and managed the mayhem I had created, I also found a sense of peace somewhere in the process of sorting and rearranging.  Perhaps it was as simple as putting things in order…perhaps it was about being in control.  Either way, I was grateful and I lit a candle and turned on some music and just sat down to enjoy it all for a moment.

A moment was about all I had left.  There were other things to do.  We had a market day early the next morning and afterwards, on the spur of the moment, decided to travel down to explore a “new” area for my husband.  We ended up going even further than we had expected and, when we realized how close we were, we called a friend who graciously dropped her own schedule and came to share ours.  We lunched in style in a great old restaurant and we shopped–in considerably less high fashion–at several other locations as we sought treasures in antique/junk stores.  As we returned home, we stopped to check on a tiny little cat my sister had rescued and bought plants to add some color outside our kitchen window.

Sunday was roast and veggies in the crockpot, making blueberry pound cake, tying ribbons on the books bought for Father’s Day and gathering with family in our home.  We celebrated those who were with us…and missed those who weren’t.  My father-in-law would have been 81 that day.  We missed him and my brother who wasn’t able to be there for the occasion.  It was both a good day and a hard one.  Days that celebrate things you will never be are often difficult.

Yesterday was about returning to the schedule of laundry and other household chores given up for the weekend in place of spending time with people I love and clients who came to the house with collections of their own treasures–some in need of restoration, others in need of creation.  As I listened to the soft music playing in the background while a grandmother and grandfather sorted out ideas for blessing their grandchildren, I laughed inside and thought, “God, this IS the quiet lfe!  All this activity.  All this chaos and all this sorting it out.  All this creativity and the action it produces to bless those we love…this is the quiet life.”

“…that you also aspire to lead a quiet life, to mind your own business, and to work with your own hands, as we commanded you, that you may walk properly toward those who are outside, and that you may lack nothing.”  1 Thessalonians 4:11-12

That was the third verse I looked up in my study of being quiet…a life verse…a living lesson…Sneaky, God, really sneaky.  And, once again, I think I heard him laugh…with me, of course, never at me. (grin)

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

