Still worth fighting for?

This time of year always touches my heart–and my emotions.  I was raised to believe that I lived in the greatest country on the face of the earth.  I still think that.  Though there is much about my country that I would wish to be different, I remain a proud citizen of the United States of America.

I know that there are a lot of people who view this as a great holiday, but they’re not really aware of what they’re celebrating.  If you’re one of those people, take a look at the following documents.  If you’ve already read them, read them again.  Now, more than ever, we need to be aware of our political heritage.  We need to be aware of how our nation started, aware of how far we’ve come, aware of how far we’ve strayed from the original intent and we need to know that the ideals that our founding fathers set down in these writings are still worth defending today.

The Declaration of Independence:  http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/declaration_transcript.html

The Constitution of the United States of America:  http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/constitution_transcript.html

The Bill of Rights:  http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/bill_of_rights_transcript.html

Still worth fighting for?  Absolutely.

I’m taking the rest of the week to celebrate with family and friends.  I wish you a happy and healthy Independence Day celebration and pray that you will be inspired by the writings and the ideals in the documents above to make a difference wherever you live.

God Bless America (lyrics by Irving Berlin)

God bless America,
Land that I love,
Stand beside her and guide her
Thru the night with a light from above;

From the mountains, to the prairies,
To the oceans white with foam,
God bless America,
My home, sweet home.
God bless America,
My home, sweet home.

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

