In a pickle…and happy to be here!

Today I woke up to a brand new world…one where the steroids are receding in dosage and their effects are confined to the night-times instead of taking over my days and clouding my mind.  I’m on the downhill slide and I feel like I just might be getting my life back!  (Dramatic, I know, but oh, so heartfelt!!!)

Today I have been back in the kitchen.  So far, I’ve made pimento cheese and I’ve been working the process toward a HUGE batch of that nectar of all things summer and Southern (from an additive to tuna or chicken salad to the stand-alone side dish):  home-made sweet pickles!

I’ve been reveling in the reading of the family recipe and the following of years of passed down instructions complete with handwritten notes and a call to my mama to confirm something “just in case” so I wouldn’t go to all this effort to no avail…and I’ve been celebrating the return to my normal.

I’ve been enjoying the way the cucumbers have changed in color to this incredibly gorgeous green and wondering how it is that such bounty is mine.  I’m making a larger-than-normal batch so I’ll have plenty to share in recipes this winter when the days will be wetter and colder and the taste of summer will still be in this house.  I’ve been anticipating the way the pickles will become ambassadors for past days of sunshine and will help to bring a pungent, perfect addition to all kinds of deliciousness. SONY DSC

It is a quiet celebration, to be sure, but that’s pretty appropriate for me right now.  It is the quiet things all joined together that make up the song here today.

I’ve been praying for those whose path is wider and further away from here right now and I’ve been reminded how grateful I am that our God is not stretched to meet both their needs and mine though our tasks and locations are  miles and miles apart.  It has been a great day!

As I worked, I was reminded of one of my favorite quotes that stays posted on my fridge.  I was tickled to find that the ink I’d chosen to print it in all those months ago is the exact same shade of my pickles today:

“To live content with small means; to seek elegance rather than luxury, and refinement rather than fashion; to study hard, think quietly, talk gently, act frankly; to listen to stars and birds, to babes and sages, with open heart; to bear all cheerfully, do all bravely, await occasions, hurry never—in a word, to let the spiritual, unbidden and unconscious, grow up through the common.  This is to be my symphony.”  ~William Henry Channing

I would wish such a gift for you today, as well.
Grace & Peace!

2 thoughts on “In a pickle…and happy to be here!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

