Graced

I woke up at a quarter ’til 4 this morning and couldn’t go back to sleep.  Something about getting older or just the litany of things running through my mind?  I’m still not sure.

I headed downstairs and curled up with a soft fuzzy green blanket and a good book.  I got lost in the story and almost before I knew it was possible, the book was ending and my husband’s alarm was sounding out the chorus of Aaron Shust’s lyrics to “My Savior My God”

“I am not skilled to understand What God has willed what God Has planned I only know at his right hand Stands one who is my Savior
I take him at his word and deed Christ died to save me this I read And in my heart I find the need Of him to be my Savior
That he would leave his place on high And come for sinful man to die You called it strange so once did I Before I knew my Savior
[x2:] My Savior loves My Savior lives My Savior’s always there for me My God he was My God he is My God he’s always gonna be
Yes living, dying let me bring My strength my Solace from the Spring That he who lives to be my king Once died to be my Savior
That he would leave his place on high And come for sinful man to die You called it strange, so once did I Before I knew my Savior
[x2:] My Savior loves My Savior lives My Savior’s always there for me My God he was My God he is My God he’s always gonna be
(To hear it for yourself:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_LTukeHo3_Y)

We are not “coffee people” in this house, but I was cold and the thought of a hot cup in my hand was a good one, so I put on a pot, turned on some instrumental praise music and started in on the morning chores.  My husband needed to leave a bit earlier than normal, so the house was soon back to being my own private sanctuary.

I sat in my early morning spot on the couch with my hands wrapped around my warm cup of comfort and listened to the praises flowing out of the sound system and I was suddenly overwhelmed at how graced my life is.  God is good.  God is good.  God is good!  And He is good whether things are good or not.

Oh, if we only lived that out each day like we really believed it!  If we shared our grace and shared His love in the same measures He has given to us…the world would never doubt His goodness again.

We can do that, you know.  Right where we are.  In our homes and on our jobs.  When we’re grocery shopping and when we’re at the game.  When we hug those we know and meet those we haven’t had a chance to know yet.  We can do this!  We must do this!

We are graced…the recipients of God’s best gift:

My Savior loves

My Savior lives

My Savior’s always there for me

My God he was

My God he is

My God he’s always gonna be

How will we share the grace today?

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

