Aloof?

I have three cats.  Three wonderful, funny, furry “children” who do not require funds for higher education.  That’s a good thing.

People have the idea that cats are aloof creatures…disdainful of human company and finicky.  Apparently my cats didn’t get the memo.

They are crazy creatures who think I exist to pet and treat and provide a comfortable place to nap.  In fact, I’m hard pressed to sit for more than a few moments before my lap is covered up in furry love.  When there isn’t room for all of them–and there never is!–one usually moves to the back of my chair and puts a paw out on my shoulder…just to keep me in place, you know.

I have one who believes I bought the ottoman for his own personal throne, one who thinks I can’t take a Sunday afternoon nap or change the sheets without company and one who is quite certain that I’m incapable of doing laundry without his assistance.  As I go through my day, I have constant company.  They seem to work on a rotation schedule…just in case I might feel the beginnings of loneliness or need assistance drawing my next breath.

I’ve learned a lot from my cats:

  • I’ve learned about how I need to draw close to God through every single detail of my life.A very relaxed cat named Jack
  • I’ve learned that although He doesn’t need me to accomplish His tasks, He really does enjoy it when I participate in them.
  • I’ve learned that He is my Provider…of all things…including treats and the occasionally needed correction. (grin)
  • I’ve learned that I am at my best when I am nearest to Him.
  • I’ve learned that being aloof in my relationship with Him is never in my best interest…and that people who choose that path are missing more than they can possibly imagine.
  • I’ve also learned not to take myself so seriously…and to take time out to relax every now and then.

I could do worse, I guess.  In the meantime, although I’ve got a list of chores that need doing, I think I’ll go take a cat nap! (and no, I couldn’t resist that one!  haha)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Aloof?

  1. Great silly cat photo! God has used my cats to teach me about Himself and my relationship to Him too. God gave me one of my cats in a time of great grief to show me how He is the owner of all the universe. My other cat was given to me in a time of great need and God showed me how He provides.

    • God is SO good to us! Grateful for His watchcare and how He provides us with all we need…including silly cats! BTW, I must say that my cat Jack provides me with AMPLE silly cat photo ops! Thanks for stopping by to see me! Grace & Peace!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

