What if you knew?

Everyone has questions.  Everyone.  I’ve had multiple discussions over the past few weeks centered around the future and what it holds.  In each of these discussions, much has been made about how many of us would like to know what is in our futures, but I question that.  What if we did know everything that was going to happen to us before it actually happened? If we could, would we really want to know the details? I’ve been spending some time on the topic and I wonder:

  • What possible good could come from knowing the difficulties we would face ahead of time?  While there are certainly things that could be given additional prep time, the majority of those difficulties would simply be enlarged by giving us time to dred them.
  • What joys of the present (both small and large!) would be swallowed up or ignored?
  • Would our foreknowledge of the good things that are to come minimize our joy and excitement upon their actual arrival?
  • Living life without a sense of anticipation?  I vote no!

I believe it is enough that GOD knows what will happen.  In fact, I’m grateful that His knowledge of all my days is complete.  The Psalmist knew the truth of this and he wrote the following:

“Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.
And in Your book they all were written,
The days fashioned for me,
When as yet there were none of them.”  Psalm 139:16 (NKJV)

I’ve also made a few decisions for myself:

  • I’m going to give thanks today for all the things that I DO NOT know.
  • I’m going to give praise to the One who knows it all for allowing me the peace of mind that can only come from facing one day at a time.
  • I’m going to choose to rest in Him today, trusting that He’s provided all I need to tackle what He’s placed in front of me at the moment.
  • I’m choosing to rest.
  • I’m choosing to enjoy today and look forward to tomorrow…no matter what it holds.
  • I’m choosing to believe that the days already written for me are filled with joy and goodness…and God. And if I am wrong?  I will face that day when it comes…and I will face it with Him at my side and on my side.

Although there’s nothing we can do to change the actual circumstances that we will face, we are in control of the attitudes with which we face them.  Anyone can do this!  We just have to put our trust in the One who knows it all and loves us best.  What will you choose today?

“Therefore don’t worry about tomorrow, because tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”  Matthew 6:34 (HCSB)

6 thoughts on “What if you knew?

  1. Becky, I really enjoyed your post today. And I am so with you. I do not want to know what all is to happen in the future. I’m afraid I would dwell on the negative and there is so much good in each and every day. Your post reminded me of Jeremiah 29:11. Hope your day is beautiful!

    • I had the same thought, Rita! I am usually very optimistic, but think that might change if I knew there were lots and lots of difficulties on the horizon…and that might make me ignore the good things coming my way! Hope your week is wonderful!!!

  2. This is great. I have a habit or worrying about the future, a lot. Mostly about how I’m not where I want to be or will I ever get to do all the things I want. I worry about my parents, if something will happen to them soon…. sickness, death. What will I do when they’re gone. And on and on it goes. I came across this in my devotional (Jesus Calling by Sarah Young) one day and it really blessed me on this issue. “Your future looks uncertain and feels flimsy – even precarious. That is how it should be. Secret things belong to the Lord, and future things are secret things. When you try to figure out the future, you are grasping at things that are Mine. This, like all forms of worry, is an act of rebellion: doubting My promises to care for you.” Ref. Deuteronomy 29:29; Psalm 32:8

    • It’s taken me longer to respond to you than normal, but I’ve been thinking about you and praying that God will allow you rest in your areas of concern. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and your readings with me! Ann Voskamp calls this kind of thinking “practical atheism” because it essentially says “God can’t take care of this!” That always pulls me up short when I think about it like that. Praying you’ll enjoy His peace and that you’ll keep on sharing the grace you’ve received with the world!
      Blessings! Becky

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

