Word games with a Friend

“…For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.”  Romans 7:15b

I’ve felt closer to Paul than ever this week…and not for the reasons you might imagine.  His quote in Romans 7:15–in proper context–is about sin and how it can be extremely difficult to eradicate from a life.  For me, however, I’ve had this one floating around in my head as I’ve filled out reams of paperwork, held countless phone call meetings, met with contractors, inspectors, realtors, etc…and didn’t get to do some of the other things I’d rather be doing…you know, really fun things like laundry and grocery shopping! (ha!)

I’m not misusing Scripture, but it has entertained me that God’s word still speaks to me and makes me smile even in the midst of all the controlled chaos that preparing to move and put a house on the market can bring.  I love it that His Word is timeless and that He can bring it to mind at just the right time…and that He can do it in such a way to make me smile when I don’t feel like smiling.  It is a reminder that my God is alive and that He is personal.  He is not some distant potentate waiting to pounce and pronounce judgment, but a loving, personally involved Friend who cares enough to lighten my load…and my mood…by using words written so many years ago.

God has a great sense of humor…and I’m glad He’s let me in on the joke this week.  I’ve needed that.

(By the way, being friends with God is a very good thing.  You should try it!)

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

