For your weekend…

Once again it has been a very busy week.  Everyone I know can say the same thing.

I’ve used a bit of my down time (what little there was!) to look at quotes that would inspire me to keep going.  What I kept finding surprised me greatly:  I seemed most drawn to the ones that decried busy-ness.

Our society has made it almost manditory, you know.  We must stay busy, nose to the grindstone, work hard to get ahead…or just to stay even.  We must produce in order to prove our worth, our importance…maybe even our social status?  Our main means of competition these days can often be seen in the comparisons of whose calendar is most full.  I sometimes think that we lose quality of life at the expense of quantity of activity.

It takes a great deal of resolve to do life differently.  To deliberately slow down, take your time, actually be aware of your surroundings…and the people you love…to do love deliberately.  That’s not a typo, you know.  Love is not just a feeling.  It is both subject and verb.  We must DO love, not just give it lip service.  Love is action…that sometimes needs to be expressed by a cessation of activity.

Think about that this weekend.  What can you eliminate from your schedule in order to show love to those you hold most closely in your heart?  What can you DO to show them that they are more important than the items on your to-do list?  What can you NOT DO in order to give them proper priority?

 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  Matthew 11:28-30 (NIV)

There’s a reason these verses are in there. It is a choice. Will you make it with me?

(And she says all of this just before she runs out the door…because, yes, there’s a lot of choosing to be done here, as well.)

Grace & Peace! (grin)

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

