For your weekend…

“Make new friends, but keep the old;

One is silver and the other gold!”

Does anyone besides me remember singing this round when you were younger?  Girl Scouts or some other group activity may have taught it to you?

I can’t remember where I learned it now, but it is running through my mind this morning.  Actually, it seems to be on a loop…earworm!  Still, the sentiment is appropriate for where I am today and I’m always entertained by the things God brings to me to emphasize the lessons and the stages He’s bringing me to/through in His quest to make me more like His Son.

Friendships are important.  These are the people with whom you pick and choose to share your life.  They may or may not be related to you.  I say that because I’m blessed to have it both ways.  I have wonderful friends who are blood/marriage relatives and I have some friends who are just heart relatives.  (grin)

In all of the recent melee of changes here, I haven’t had a lot of time to catch up with the people I love.  I’m so blessed that they understand–after all, they’re not just sitting still on their end, either!  I have missed them, however, and I’ve been trying to reach out to different ones as I can.  (note to God:  Thank you for having someone create the speaker phone option so I can multi-task! And btw, I’m also especially grateful for texting and Facebook messages right now!)

That brings me to our challenge for the weekend:  reach out to people and strengthen those heart connections!  Take advantage of the modern technologies that allow us to close the gaps and send a text, a card, leave a message, make a date for a really good catch-up call at sometime in the near future or set a date to meet in person, if you live close enough to do that.  No, we won’t be able to touch base with all of the people who make our lives worth sharing, but we’ve got to start somewhere, so let’s give ourselves the gift of a new friend or pick an old one and get a move on this weekend!

“Make new friends, but keep the old,

One is silver and the other gold!”

By the way, the earworm is now yours, as well!  It is my gift to you…as my friend.  You’re welcome!  (grin!)

Grace & Peace!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

