Weekend Challenge…

It’s Friday, again? Already? How can that be? It’s been a strange week here. I’ve been under the weather and mostly confined to the house. On my very few forays out into the world, my attention was always captured by the small things that indicate that there are changes in season on the way.

SONY DSC

The last of the purple petunias with their amazing perfume.

The mushroom in my front yard that looks like a Danish pastry.SONY DSC

SONY DSCThe changing colors in the leaves. SONY DSCAnother round of fragrant blooms on the rose bush by the back door.

SONY DSCThe red berries of the dogwood peeping out from leaves that are still (mostly) green, but also showing signs of fatigue from the lack of rain during the hot, dry Georgia summer.

(All of these I have noticed while trying to ignore the fact that my grass needs mowing again since we finally got rain and there are other garden chores that need doing around here in the worst way.)

With each tiny foray out into the world, I’ve tried to bring some small thing back into the house with me just so I could still feel I was a part of it all.

SONY DSC            SONY DSC          SONY DSC          SONY DSC

 

Waking up yesterday to find I was finally on the mend and feeling much improved made me so happy that I took a shower just so I could push the trash bin out to the road!  (Yes, I laugh at myself quite a bit, too.)

No matter what you’re going through right now, you have a choice about how you’ll spend your thought energy. The things you choose to place around you can help you cope better, be more productive, feel more connected and remind you of all the wonderful gifts we receive each day. So? Where’s the challenge?  Here you go: Each time you leave the house this weekend, take some time to focus on the tiny gifts of color around you in nature.  If possible (and without breaking any laws–yes, there’s a hidden story there) bring a small touch of nature back with you and place it where you can be reminded that God loves us so much that He’s placed reminders for joy all around us.  We just have to take the time to stop and see them…and then, give thanks.

i thank You God for most this amazing
day: for the leaping greenly spirits of trees
and a blue true dream of sky; and for everything
which is natural which is infinite which is yes  e.e. cummings

2 thoughts on “Weekend Challenge…

  1. Oh, how I love e.e.cummings. I also love your ability to love those small things, and to (as a true artist) paint them (with words or strokes) in such a way that we can love them too!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

