Preaching to the choir…and myself

There is absolutely nothing super-spiritual about getting bad news or watching loved ones suffer. Yes, it IS an opportunity for more prayer and yes, it is another opportunity for those around you to see your faith in action, but in truth, it will also wear you out.

I know this from experience…both personally and from friends who are also currently experiencing similar situations. We’re all well aware of the promises made in Scripture and we know almost every verse that tells about God’s greatness and His goodness and His plans for us. Yes, we know all of that and still…honestly, there are still days that we’d just like to skip to the end of the movie, to understand the plan, and be done with it all so we can go back to our “regular” life where it is all good and easy and safe…and sometimes you can’t.

So, what do we do on those days when our prayers feel futile? Pray anyway.

And when the promises feel like they’re for everyone else? Claim them anyway.

And what about those days when we’re tired of doing those things and it doesn’t seem like we’re ever going to get a break? Praise Him anyway, yell for a friend, and pray with them–and for them because, most likely, they need it, too.

I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve said, “If He never blesses me again, then I’m still the most blessed person I know.” I’m serious. It’s true…and yet we never really expect God to stop blessing us, so–on at least one level–it’s also a little bit disingenuous. SO…on these days when it’s hard to see the good and we’re all just tired of it and ready for some “normal” again? What do we do then?

We get to choose to live what we know instead of what we feel. We get to go deeper than the tired and further than what we can see right in front of us. We get to LIVE HIM and remember this:

Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope:  Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”  ~Lamentations 3: 21-24

And while we wait for morning, we are

Still standing.

Still praying.

Still trusting.

Still hoping.

Still expecting great things from our great God.

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

