Really?

I was on my way to buy cat food early yesterday morning when I saw her with her uncombed hair wild about her wide-eyed face. She was reaching into a garbage can for something to eat. We were both startled. I smiled and said, “Good morning.” So did she.

I was already halfway in the door and focused on my to-do list for the day when it happened and I guess my mind just didn’t make the leap in time. Really? Cat food was more important than people food?

I hurried through my errand trying to get back outside in time to see that she had real food for breakfast, but she was gone.

Long gone, I’d guess, because I looked.

I saw friends from church on their way into another store, but I didn’t see her.

I looked at the two different kinds of cat food I had just bought and thought about how long that money would have fed her.

I saw someone–a person–looking for breakfast in the trash can. Really? Here in this land of plenty?

Early this morning a far away missionary friend posted about her gratitude for rain and running water. Her gratitude for the rain was tied into the knowledge that families all around her were dependent on the water from the sky to meet even their most basic needs. She wrote about how she had the privilege of turning a tap for her water while others close to her were washing their clothes in muddy puddles. My response to her post? “And still we whine…”

It’s true, you know. We live in such privilege, such abundance, and yet, we still whine when things (even little things) don’t go our way or according to our schedule. I’m convicted of this. I’m guilty of this–and now I’m blown away by these two incidents back-to-back. Really? We are surrounded by people in need and we still have the nerve to complain about what we lack because the multitude of our blessings are still less than we desire.

If you’re reading this post, then your life is a blessed one–and I don’t care what other troubles you’re facing right now, that statement is true. You have access to the internet and that means power and I’ll bet it also means you have access to running water and food choices that don’t include whatever someone else decided to throw away.

I know problems are universal and that we can’t meet every need from just one pocket, but we can make a difference when we see the opportunity. I missed mine yesterday because I was too focused on something that wasn’t nearly as important as a person.

Don’t miss yours.

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.  For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me,  I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’   Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink?  And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you?  And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’”  Matthew 25:35-40

4 thoughts on “Really?

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

