NO COMPLAIN NOVEMBER: Day 2

How are you doing with this challenge so far? Is it easier than you thought? More difficult? Hopefully, you’re still going with it! Our group is hanging in there and actually thriving, I think, based on the texts and emails from today. I know. It’s only Day 2 (some of you just grinned; others of you just groaned! ha!), but keep at it even if you’re finding it more challenging than expected! Great things are ahead!

My husband read the first blog post on Saturday evening. He liked it…the writing, I mean, and he was impressed with the response to it, but he was less than exuberant about joining in with us at first. I asked him if he was in a bit later and he said, (and I quote!) “Sure! Right up until I have an epic fail!” and then, he laughed. Actually, we both did…and then I reminded him that it would certainly be ok to start over at that point! I’m putting that in here because you need to know the same thing! Even epic fails at this challenge aren’t reason enough to quit! They are simply signposts that we need to take a big breath and start again.

LeavesYou may also need to know the following: While we were getting ready for church Sunday morning, my husband suddenly exclaimed, “Why do ALL of my shirts have spots on them?!” Before he could go any further, I simply asked him, “Is that a query or a complaint?” He was quiet for just a bit and then I heard (in a much quieter voice), “It’s a query…and I really DO want to know WHY?!”

Not all questions are complaints, We need to remember not to be touchy with others as we’re in this challenge and not let our perceptions get in our own way…or in someone else’s.

It’s Monday now, and if ever there were a day for my husband to have an “epic fail” for this challenge, today would certainly qualify. I haven’t seen that happen, however. What I’ve seen is that he has personified grace under pressure, calmness of spirit, and resolve. I wish I could tell you that all of that came just from participating in this challenge, so it would be the same for you, as well, but it doesn’t. It comes from his personal relationship with God.

Today has been ROUGH for us. It has been a lot rougher than I can share right now, but here are some things you might want to know that we found out a long time ago and they are what is getting us through today:

  • God is still in control.
  • He is never surprised or taken aback by our circumstances.
  • He is good.
  • He is faithful.
  • He has a plan–and it is for our good.
  • We are loved by Him…completely, permanently, and unconditionally.

If we didn’t know anything else but that, we’d still be ahead…with no reason to complain.

Praying that you know these things already, that you’re relying on them (and HIM!) fully, and that you’ll jump in right where you are today share your blessing with those around you. See you back here later!

Grace & Peace!

(By the way, the leaves are for Audrey (my #9), who shared that God has been using red & yellow leaves to remind her of His faithful Presence during this challenge and make her aware of her blessings. If God is using something to remind you of YOUR blessings during this challenge, I’d love to hear about it! Feel free to contact me in the comment section and share with the others who have joined us, as well!)

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

