NO COMPLAIN NOVEMBER: Day 25

grandmother hodum thanksgiving poem

I shared this poem back when I started the blog in 2012. My maternal grandmother would recite it during our family’s Thanksgiving celebration every year when I was a child. At some point, my Cousin Suzanne had the foresight to ask Grandmother to write it down, so now we have a copy of her recitation in her handwriting. That’s a precious thing to me. I can still hear her voice as I read it…and that is even more precious to me.

I’m sharing it again this year in hope that it will make you smile and encourage you to enjoy some of your own family traditions this holiday season and, maybe, you’ll want to get something handwritten for posterity in your family, as well!

We can’t bring back those we’ve loved and lost, but we can share our fun memories and make brand new ones with those God has gifted us with today. I’ll be doing just that for the rest of the week, so I’m leaving you with a smile. I’ll be back to blogging here in a few days with lots of great memories of family, friends, amazing food…and no complaints.

You are loved and prayed for today! Have a marvelous Thanksgiving celebration wherever you are!

“Thanksgiving Dinner”

I don’t believe in eating much

of turkey, pumpkin pie and such.

It make me dream bad dreams at night

and then, besides, it’s not polite.

So I’m not going to stuff and stuff

and act like I can’t get enough.

For me a turkey leg will do

with just a slice of breast or two,

then some liver, gizzard, and a wing,

Lots of dressing, that’s the thing!

Mashed potatoes to make me grow

Squash and cabbages, they’re fine, you know,

And I must have some cranberries, too,

And layer cake–two pieces will do.

Then of pumpkin pie so yellow–

One piece, because I’m a little fellow.

With nuts and apples I shall quit

and not ask for another bit.

For it isn’t good the doctors say

To eat too much on Thanksgiving Day!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

