Well, it sounds simple…

Well, it sounds simple.

“Then Joseph, being roused from sleep, did as the angel of the Lord commanded him and took to him his wife…”  Matthew 1:24 (NKJV)

Yeah, it sounds simple…but I’m betting it didn’t feel all that simple. That’s the way of obedience. On one hand, it is exactly what you’d expect–you hear and then you do. On the other hand…well, we’ve all been there. We’ve all been there more than once. “Hear, then do” more typically looks like “hear, then think/rationalize/make excuses/make possible alternate plans/talk to other people/get their opinions/wonder why God can’t or won’t do it that way/worry a little about why He’s doing it this way/ask again to make sure you heard it right the first time/ wait a little bit longer…to make really sure/long road/long sighs/long faces…

(PSST! Hey! Anybody else out there? or is this just for me?) Yeah, I’ve done that…at least a time or two. If you’re going to tell me you haven’t…then I’m probably going to have to have a little chat about truth-telling with you a bit later, too. Either way, we humans tend to take the simple thing and complicate it…regularly.

Sometimes the command sounds simple, but the follow-through actually is complicated. I think that was the case for Joseph. I’ll bet the follow-through changed him. I’ll bet he heard a LOT of unsolicited advice and opinions over the years. I’ll bet he wondered about a lot of it…for a long time…and yet, he obeyed…as soon as he heard and woke up–and maybe even while he was still rubbing the sleep from his eyes.

I think that may be one of the reasons why God chose Joseph to be His Son’s earthly father. Joseph already had that obedience thing down and you can’t model what you do not know. God knew Jesus would be obedient when the time for the hard choices came–Jesus is GOD, after all, and this was part of the plan, but I can’t help but think that having that Joseph-obedience right there in front of you all the time was both a blessing to God the Father in heaven and to Jesus-God-with-us right over there in the living room! I want that kind of faith. I want that kind of obedience to mark my life. I want more of HIM and His choices and less of me and fewer of mine. (I’ve seen how well they work out.)

Sounds simple enough…doesn’t it?

So, what are you waiting on where you are? What do you need to do–right now!–that sounds simple, but feels complicated, and is STILL what God told you to do? Trust? Go? Stay? Be? Choose? Yes. We have to choose obedience. There’s only one other option…and it really is that simple.

Grace & Peace! (and quick obedience!!)

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

