Liberated in the Jiffy Lube

I had hoped God would speak to me. I hope that every day. (Some days I hear Him right off and other times, I seem to need some not-always-so-gentle prodding.) ANYWAY! Awhile back I was reading my Bible while waiting for the mechanics to replace my blinker light when it happened. (and MY, doesn’t that make me sound all super-spiritual?! HA!) The fact is that I rarely make stops of this kind without taking reading material along, but I didn’t think about getting the light fixed until I was actually on the road that day, so I just took my small pocket Bible from the console in with me. I was in multi-tasking mode: as in “how many things can I get done on this one trip to town” mode, so while I really wanted to hear from God, I wasn’t expecting Him to get too personal in the Jifffy Lube.

There were 2 men ahead of me when I sat down, so I expected to be there for a little bit. I opened the Book and started to read in 1 Corinthians. I hadn’t read very far at all before I was scrambling for my notebook and asking to borrow a pen. Some days, God gets loud with me. It was one of those days.

Here’s what I read:

Paul, called as an apostle of Christ Jesus by God’s will, and Sosthenes our brother:  To God’s church at Corinth, to those who are sanctified in Christ Jesus and called as saints, with all those in every place who call on the name of Jesus Christ our Lord—both their Lord and ours. Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. I always thank my God for you because of God’s grace given to you in Christ Jesus, that by Him you were enriched in everything—in all speech and all knowledge. In this way, the testimony about Christ was confirmed among you, so that you do not lack any spiritual gift as you eagerly wait for the revelation of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Check out verse 7, where Paul says “so that you do not lack any spiritual gift.” Does that sound like you? It doesn’t sound like me. I must have missed something, because I most definitely do NOT have every spiritual gift. Read it again. Did you see it that time? Don’t worry if it didn’t jump out at you quite as loudly as it did to me…you probably don’t have some of the same issues I do: ones about trying to be perfect and ending up more than a little frustrated in my determination to do all things…and do them well…and being frustrated because I can’t really manage it some days. Most days. Every day? Oh, so it’s not just me? Well, let’s look at it again.

Ok, who is Paul talking to in this passage? See verse 2. “To God’s church at Corinth” (that’s them). “To those who are sanctified in Christ Jesus and called as saints” (Oh, yes! We get added to the mix!) and then, “with all those in every place who call on the name of Jesus Christ our Lord” (See! We get included again! Confirmation that this applies to me and you right when and where we are!) THAT is really great news for both of us because it means that I (we!) don’t have to do it all by ourselves. That’s what the church is for! It means that when we gather together to worship as a corporate body of Christ–no matter where we’re located!–and we each use the gifts that we’ve been given, then we won’t be lacking in the spiritual gifts that are needed to function right when and where we are! I don’t have to do it alone! Neither do you!

And if that isn’t bringing you some of that grace and peace from verse 3, then I don’t know what will! Whoever you are, wherever He finds you, know this: you are loved, you are blessed, and He wants to be yours. There’s freedom to be had here! There’s grace to be applied! There’s abundance to be enjoyed! There’s a church near you that needs you AND your gifts!–and there’s more to learn even when you’re you’re sitting in a Jiffy Lube!

 

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

