Day 21–NCN2016

0910160758a-1I found a small sprig earlier in the year while I was cleaning out the back flower beds. I let it stay.

All through the summer I watched it reach higher and higher, marking time until it would reach the screens of the back porch. I kept watch over it as it grew. I documented it in photos. I let it grow.

It didn’t bloom. It didn’t produce fruit. It didn’t do much of anything, really, except keep on reaching higher and higher. It stayed the same beautiful green as the day I first spotted it for the longest time, but I knew what to expect, so I kept it safe.

1121160728-1It is higher than the back screen door now and curls around the edge of the back gutter. Just this past week, it has come into its own and completely changed colors…all shades of red and burgundy and even a light pink up near the top. I love it!

I’m celebrating the season. I’m celebrating the life and the growth and the changes. I’m celebrating the choice to deliberately wait for those things to happen. I’m celebrating the choice to allow joy to grow at its own slow pace and keep it safe and to look for it to show up in unexpected places.

Oh, I know. Its just a plant–and a wild one, at that, but it looks like joy to me and I’m celebrating the journey of this year and giving thanks for all God has done as He’s let me grow and kept me safe and waited on me to come into my own a little bit more this year, as well.

Happy Thanksgiving week, y’all! Most things in life don’t show up in their full splendor. It takes some time. It’s a process. Sometimes you’ve got to plan ahead and let the joy grow at its own pace…and give thanks for it all along the way.

1121160729-1

“in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” I Thessalonians 5:18 (NKJV)

Grace and Peace! (and NO COMPLAINTS!!)

3 thoughts on “Day 21–NCN2016

  1. That is so beautifully said Becky and speaks about so much more than your gorgeous vine. Your words blessed my heart so today as I am in somewhat of a waiting game myself. Love you bunches. Thanking God you have come into my life. HE knows what we all need.

  2. So beautifully said Becky. You inspire me to be as good a person as I can be always. This was definitely more than about your vine. Yours words are so rich in beauty and have a special meaning to me about patience and waiting for the right time. I’m so thankful you are in my life. God always knows what we need.

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

