Day 30!!–NCN2016

34777“NCN has been so much better this year. Can’t say I haven’t whined at times but the Holy Spirit has used the exercise to at the very least make me aware. Can’t believe tomorrow is the last day I’ll actually pen the words, no acronym I needed to write it out to live it out!!, on my daily to-do list. Thank you for starting and continuing NO COMPLAIN NOVEMBER! Looking forward to next year. I love you.”

These were the words that came to me yesterday from my lovely cousin Leigh. I wasn’t surprised by them. She’s always encouraging and I loved that she shared this spontaneously. It DID, however, cause me to prompt some responses from a few others that I knew had made the NO COMPLAIN NOVEMBER journey with us by sending the following:  what’s your evaluation of NCN and how you observed it/what did you learn? 

Here is a sampling of what I received in response:

“I honestly think some people are complainers by nature. And I might be one of them!  This has been a great tool for bringing that awareness to me! Seriously…my husband…doesn’t complain. In fact, he rarely says much. LOL. I find this personality-flaw cruel and unfair.

And during the first 5 minutes of breakfast I might have been “explaining” my use of said husband’s Fitbit charger cord and all the reasons mine was unavailable to me…when he sweetly asked, ‘Is it still November?’

Wow.”

 

“…I have to admit I wasn’t as diligent as I should have been toward the middle to end of month. So much going on I fall back into bad habits. I will say, however, that my priest’s homily Sunday evening revved me up again. He spoke about the beginning of the advent season and how we should all make an effort to honor the season and prepare for Christs birth. He talked about how small efforts every day add up and put us on the right track. Made my mind up then to make more of an effort to be positive and take NCN into December. Kind of my way of making up for all of the Days timeI messed up in November!”

 

“First answer: I refuse to answer the question on the grounds that it might incriminate me.

Second answer: while I wasn’t very successful, NCN and your blogs brought me back to the right head space, at least for a few moments.

Third answer: I’ll catch up with you in December.”

I love it! See! I have something to anticipate! (grin)

I chose these responses deliberately because they all have a theme. In fact, it might as well have been the theme for the entire challenge: NO ONE is going to do NO COMPLAIN NOVEMBER perfectly! That’s not a complaint. It’s a fact…and I’m more than ok about that. I knew going in that this would be a challenge and the whole point of a challenge is to IMPROVE a performance.

I agree with Leigh. It WAS easier for me this year, but I’ve spent the past 11 months trying to keep it going from the last NCN, so that was to be expected. In some ways, it was also more difficult because of all that was going on politically, but I thought that just made it better in some ways, as well.

One of my friends who responded above also sent me an article the other day about a woman who had blogged about trying not to complain for a whole day. I chuckled. Apparently, we are over-achievers, and yet I still applaud the effort to reduce anyone’s “complaint footprint” on this earth! It is a worthy goal.

As we come to the end of our challenge–don’t give up! We still have this one last official day of NO COMPLAIN NOVEMBER to conquer! I hope that we will ALL be conscious going forward about reducing our own complaint footprint in our respective environments. Thank you for sharing this challenge with me, for sending me your texts and emails about your successes and your “almost made its” along with your complete melt-down failures. In every single case, you challenged me and encouraged me to do better and know that I was not alone in my attempts to get it right–along with giving me good company in which to repent and try again when I got it wrong.

You have blessed me and I am grateful. I have NO COMPLAINTS about my companions in this challenge for you are a valiant lot and I’m proud to know you–even those I’ve not yet met.

I can’t wait to see how you make this world a better place!

Grace and Peace! (and NO COMPLAINTS!!)

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

