On the cusp

This has been a pretty odd holiday season for us. We kept finishing up tasks to go to the next in order to make the next sprint to go to the…Well, you get the picture. ( I know I probably shouldn’t admit this, but we managed to get through the entire Christmas Day without reading the Christmas story!–And we NEVER miss doing that!!) In fact, your schedule may have mirrored ours. If so, may I offer my condolences and encourage you to plan for a different outcome in the year ahead?

That sounds like a no-brainer, doesn’t it? If you aren’t pleased with an outcome, make plans to change the next one! That will put you in some pretty good company right now as people around the world prepare for 2017 by making resolutions about changes in habits and behavior.

I’ve been working on a new Bible study, praying, and making all kinds of preparation for the tasks I know are ahead of me in the upcoming year. I already know some of what God is loading my plate with in the months ahead. That’s both exciting and also carries a significant amount of pressure.

I’ve been using the past few days to do as much prep work as I possibly can. I’ve always been a fan of being prepared…But I’ve also been pretty much committed  to  the “doing my best work under pressure” theory most of the time in reality. (Grin…There are several former teachers/professors who would be nodding in agreement right now.)

This year, at age 51, I’m trying something new.

I’m also trying something old. I’m revisiting a theme from a few years ago that served me well while we were living with a lot of chaos. I won’t be making any resolutions, but I will be posting a favorite quote by missionary Jim Elliott in several key places where I can see it often. Here’s the quote:

“Wherever you are, be all there.”

That’s it. It’s really that simple. I’ve got a lot of great opportunities coming up this year and I plan to make the most of every single one. God is entrusting me with these opportunities to serve. I want to be fully prepared and fully present to do what He’s called me to do.

When I embraced this quote before, I found that I was more relaxed and yet more focused. I got away from that in 2016, and to be perfectly honest, it wasn’t my best year. At times I felt a little like I was wandering in the proverbial wilderness. I’m OK with the wandering. I’m just not particularly fond of the wilderness…especially when it’s of my own making.

I started the day after Christmas. I began with some one-on-one time with God. I haven’t asked for things, but for wisdom, for attitudes that reflect Him instead of me, for the ability to discern best over good…and the ability to know when good enough actually IS His best right then.

I can’t wait! I feel like I’m on the cusp of a significant move forward in my personal relationship with God. I’m excited about serving Him and His people in a brand new way. I’m not under any illusions that it will all go perfectly or that I’ll make it through the year without falling on my face. It’s my hope, however, that all this time on my face in preparation will make those landings easier when they happen and that the rebounds will be quicker and involve fewer people in any resulting pile-ups.

Optimistic realism. That seems to be my theme for life. It’s served me well. This year, I’m asking for it to help me serve God well, too.

What changes are you making? What resolutions are you hoping to successfully implement? Is there a theme or a goal that you’re pursuing in 2017? I want to hear all about it! I can’t wait, actually, because we’re ALL on the cusp of the new year. What do you plan to do with yours?

Grace and Peace–And Happy New Year!!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “On the cusp

  1. Mine is very simple to say but maybe not so simple to obtain. It’s to learn more about God’s will for me and not so much of what I want. I want to be in his Presence at all times. Even when I get busy and push him aside, I want to achieve listening to him when he speaks to me and not just listening but doing what he says. See that was easy to say now I pray that he will guide me to accomplish his will in all of it.

    • Let it be so, Father God! Help Your daughter Cyndi to be so at home in You that she lives right in the center of Your will for her life and brings You honor with every part of her life. Amen.

      Love you!!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.

