Touch ups

It’s time for a touch up. Actually, it’s way past time. In fact, I’m not sure when these vintage pieces got their last one. What I DO know is that I can only hope that the paint I’m using this time lasts as long and performs as well as the previous touch up.

This isn’t a task I do with a specific regularity or timeline. In fact, if they were still at my previous country-cottage home in Georgia, their chippy paint still wouldn’t merit a second glance from me or any of my visitors. The more private, tree-covered garden setting there meant they weren’t on public display. In fact, a few of these pieces haven’t been painted since I bought them–and I loved their already weathered patina on sight.

I still love it…but, while their purpose remains the same, their setting has changed. This mid-century classic house and yard have a more formal attitude and these pieces now reside on the busy corner of a city block.

We are all, once again, country come to town here–and, that means some things will need to change. Oh, it won’t be in the “essentials” of personality, purpose, or general points of view, but the occasionally spruced up wardrobe seems to be required…for the furniture, at least. This town is extremely laid back and casual, so almost anything goes for the humans here. I like that.

Without the cover of all those Georgia pines and old growth oaks, however, we’re going to need some shade around the pool here this summer. I found a great end-of-season deal on some crisp and clean cream-colored umbrellas last year…and they look entirely too new and shiny against all of the rustic, chippy layers with multiple colors making their appearance along with plenty of dust and more than a sprinkling of lichen. Hence the painting party.

Naturally, all this touching up has made me think, though, of how we so often grow comfortable in our settings, attitudes, and our casual displays of who we’re called to be. We forget, sometimes, that there’s a whole world watching and they may only get an idea about who Jesus is by what we show them. Furthermore, in all of our comfort, we forget that we have a moment-by-moment need for staying in touch with the One who loves us most.

I thought about the woman with the issue of blood from Mark 5. After 12 years of suffering and being told to hide in private so as not to create problems for others, she pushed past people and “propriety” for just a touch of the hem on the Master’s garment.

She just needed a touch up.

She wasn’t concerned about how it looked or what other people thought. It turns out, the people around her didn’t even know she was there, but Jesus did. He noticed. He stopped. He healed her. He called out to her and He validated her faith.

I think that’s something we could all probably use. Our issues may not be visible or public knowledge, but we all have them. Don’t wait. Reach out to Him today. He’s just as willing to help us as He was to help her. HIS touch ups make all the difference in the world…and when others see the difference He makes in us, hopefully, they will reach out to Him, too.

Grace and Peace!

Your words are a gift. Treat them and your fellow readers gently, please.